Jackson Galaxy Spirit Essences: Peacemaker

276005.2_500

 

I am always trying to find ways to make my fur children get along better- new toys, changing eating arrangements, litter box arrangements, even a few separation periods with slow reintroductions. Nothing really made any noticeable difference until now!

I received my Peacemaker in the mail about a 2 weeks ago and immediately began spraying it everywhere. It is recommended to add a few drops to their water bowl and food, and take a few drops in your hands and rub their bodies with it several times a day. Admittedly I am not following the recommended frequency, I dose their food with each meal (2 a day), and they get at least 2 body rubs a day but even this small effort is making a sizeable difference.

HOW IT WORKS

Spirit Essences are made to work with cats and dogs, so this is a great product with different kinds of animals. Our dog, Duke, is really sweet and loves the cats but I decided to put it on him too to see if it would improve the relationship he has with Coheed. Coheed seems to be more receptive to Duke than usual!

These Spirit Essences are each designed for different purposed but the over all feeling I get is that it calms down whatever undesirable behavior the animals express. I believe this works on 2 separate levels. Firstly the essence itself does have a clamming effect on the animal, giving off a smell that instinctively tells them everything is fine and secondly by having these essences on both animals it supplies a familiar sent they personally identify with.

In their minds, they smell the essence when I rub it into their fur and they think “Hey this smells good, and Mommy sure is giving me some good loving’- I feel good now!”. At each meal (the cats also have adjoining bowls) they smell the essence again, so now they think “I smell the goodness again and this time it smells like food too!”. Once they both begin to eat “Oh hey! Brother/sister smells like the goodness too!” The positive reinforcement they get from the essence in combination with the food is a huge convincing factor for me. The more the animals can associate an essence with food (or loving attention) the more receptive they will be to each other when they smell the same essence  on their sibling. Spraying the entire home helps to encourage them to keep this state of mind no matter where they travel. Spraying often helps to keep the essence fresh and the results strong.

 

303377_10150638219960592_1450285608_n     1958302_10151948449370592_1686399522_n

(Above left: Taz and Coheed, Summer 2012 Above Right: Coheed and Duke, Winter 2013)

 

MY RESULTS

I love them but my cats are kind of assholes! Taz has always been a bit of a bully to Coheed but now that he is bigger than her he will initiate a fight just as often. There was a brief period when Coheed was a few months old that they played nicely and snuggled well but ever since then its felt like they just tolerated each other. Now I feel like they are beginning to enjoy being in the other’s company.

I was a bit skeptical when ordering. I couldn’t believe that flower water could make a noticeable difference in their attitudes but I figured if it only helped a little that it would be worth it. The first few days they seemed to fight less often- I haven’t heard a hiss or growl in nearly 3 days now and that is huge!

I’m a believer now! I know these will come in handy when we move again and I’m so glad to have these tools to transition them with!

 

Leave a Reply

